Monday, July 20, 2015

Bug in a Vacuum - Melanie Watt

Title: Bug in a Vacuum
Author: Melanie Watt
Series: Stand Alone
Publisher: Tundra Books
Publication Date: August 25, 2015
Source: Netgalley

This picture book, unfortunately, is one of those that needs to be in existence.  It covers the hard topic of grief.  This is not an easy topic to talk to a child about, especially a younger one, but thankfully this one is written in a way that is child friendly.

This book is about a bug.  In the beginning the bug is doing his little bug thing - flying around and having a grand old time.  He is minding his own business.  He is on top of the world (literally)!  And then he gets sucked into a vacuum.  Poor little guy.  The bug then goes through the 5 stages of grieving.  It is quite a journey that we get to go on with this bug.

This book is beautifully illustrated.  Each stage is wonderfully depicted.  This book will help open up a conversation with a little one about grieving.  It will help the child understand what they are going through and that it is normal.  More importantly, it will help open up a discussion that will help the child express what they are feeling.

I am very happy that this book was created.  I think it was beautifully and tastefully done.  The illustrations are gorgeous.  It is definitely a book I will be recommending in the future to those that unfortunately will have to discuss grieving with a young one.

On a less serious side note - I totally loved the dog in the book!

This review is based on an eARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley.

No comments:

Post a Comment